Dispensaries in San Jose, CA
The legalization of cannabis in California has brought the state a lot of benefits, but it also has its downsides. As a result, there are many restrictions on where you can smoke or consume cannabis. Currently, there are 16 retail dispensaries in San Jose, and the number is forecasted to increase to 37. Besides, already operating cannabis shops are allowed to open second locations. Addresses of current weed shop in California.
If you are looking for a San Jose dispensary near you, firstly, make sure that your location is out of the police beat exclusion area that prohibits dispensary uses; however, it allows delivery services. Keep in mind that according to California law, the public consumption of cannabis is not allowed. This means that you can't smoke onsite dispensary — a weed dispensary in San Jose must provide you with an offsite location where you can smoke if you choose to do so on your own time.
How to Find the Best Dispensary in San Jose
To ensure that all marijuana businesses and purveyors adhere to rules, regulations, and industry standards, the City of San Jose, has created a Division of Cannabis Regulation. Buying your medical marijuana and THC product from a government-approved source with a license is vital. As of July 2019, cannabis delivery services have been approved by the Division of Cannabis Regulation in San Jose, California; hence it is legal to accept weed via delivery in San Jose.
Hence, despite the fact that it is not easy to find a 24-hour dispensary in San Jose since dispensaries must close by 10:00 p.m., many delivery services will still deliver past this time. In addition, every dispensary must have an on-site twenty-four (24)-hour landline telephone number so that they can be reached at any time to take orders or answer questions about products and services.
How to Buy Cannabis at Dispensaries in San Jose
If you're considering buying cannabis from a dispensary in San Jose, you should know a few things before you get started.
First, all dispensaries must keep records of all money contributed to or received from the business. This includes cash and non-cash payments — you can use cash, check, debit card, or credit card to pay for your purchase. Dispensaries need to keep a record of each transaction for at least five years.
Second, when purchasing recreational cannabis from dispensaries in San Jose, you must be at least 21 years old and show an ID with proof of age — you can't just use your word as proof! Medical marijuana patients must also be at least 18 years old and show their medical card or doctor's prescription along with proof of age before being able to purchase medical marijuana products from San Jose dispensaries.
Also, it is essential to note that people who use medical cannabis will only pay the 15 percent excise tax on the drug and could see an increase in sales tax if their local jurisdiction decides to levy one. Customers who want to enjoy recreational weed and marijuana-infused products must be ready to cover their expenses the following:
- State excise tax (15%)
- State sales tax (9.5%)
- City sales tax (7.5%)
How to Get a Medical Cannabis Card
In order to purchase medical marijuana products from the San Jose dispensary menu, you need to provide Medical Marijuana Identification Card; to obtain one, please do the following:
- Fill in the MMICP application form;
- Provide a government-issued personal identification;
- Proof that you live in San Jose County;
- A verification form that confirms that you are diagnosed with a medical condition requiring treatment that involves medical cannabis use;
- A non-cash fee payment.
As you give the manager at your cannabis store your ID and medical marijuana identification card, you can browse through the available products and deals menu. If you live in other cities in California, you can also find dispensaries for other cities, for example, Sacramento dispensaries, San Francisco, Sacramento and more.