Add to favorite icon Like/Add to favorite

Add as favorite

Let us know why Granddaddy Purple (GDP, Granddaddy Purp) is your favorite strain.
Granddaddy Purple (GDP, Granddaddy Purp)
Potency
NEWBIE SKILLED
Strain effect image Sedated, Energetic, Aroused
Strain taste image Berry, Earthy, Flowery

All Info About Granddaddy Purple Marijuana Strain

THC
MEDIUM
10%12%14%16%18%20%
HIGH
CBD
LOW
0%0.4%0.8%1.2%1.6%2%
MEDIUM

If you are a fan of heavy Indica, couch lock, and distinct berry taste, as well as the fantastic medical values, then GDP strain is the best choice for you. Grand Daddy Purple is the grandfather of all the Indica hybrids and one of the strongest weeds that will make you go numb. It contains 16-20% THC, therefore, average users should be careful.

Granddaddy Purple came out on the cannabis market back in 2003 after Ken Estes in San Francisco managed to stabilize the heavy Indica strain after the crossing of two predominant Indica phenotypes that were also highly popular among chiefs and medical users. The Grand Daddy Purple strain was created by crossing the best examples of Big Bud and Purple Urkle plants.

Taste and Smell of GDP Strain

When you open the bag, the first smell is a berry that is mixed with grape and earth. The aroma combination is highly pleasant and delicious, so you will fall in love right after the first smell. As the buds get older, the aroma gets better. Every Grand Daddy kush strain review has compliments regarding the aroma, so it is evident that this is one of the best aromas you can find on the cannabis market.

When you smoke it, you can feel a note of earth and pine that are mixed with candy-like grapes. The fusion of flavors makes this GDP strain unique, pleasant, and smooth, so you will have no problem when it comes to smoking in larger amounts.

Granddaddy Purple Possible Effects

Grand Daddy Kush genetics give you powerful and couch-lock effects, so you will not be in the mood for a walk by the river. At the same time, your thoughts will be rushed yet focused, as the mental buzz will create euphoria and pleasant relaxation. Therefore, everyone who has stress problems will benefit. Still, this is a night time weed, and do not think of using it during the day unless you are a heavy smoker. It produces:

When it comes to medical values, you have to know that this is almost pure Indica weed that will provide narcotic effects and will put you in the rest mode. The GDP weed is perfect for patients who suffer from:

  • Stress
  • Muscle spasms
  • Insomnia
  • Pain
  • Lack of appetite
  • Migraines
  • PTSD
  • Depression

As Granddaddy Purple strain is heavy Indica, you can expect dry mouth, red eyes, a bit of dizziness and paranoia until you get used to it. A less experienced patient who does not have regular contact with cannabis may experience a slightly psychedelic effect and changes in aural/visual senses.

Growing Tips

If you are planning to grow Grand Daddy Purple, then you should know that you have to have some basic knowledge to grow it successfully. Although it is not prone to diseases and does not require any special care, you should know the basic things about the water structure and nutrients you need to use. The slight disbalance in nutrients can cause damage. However, if you grow outdoors, just make sure you ensure huge holes filled with high-quality soil and organic fertilizers, and you are good to go. In an indoor environment, try not to grow smaller pots and ensure that you have at least 600 Watt lighting systems.

Single Author

Granddaddy Purple strain recommended by Pete Feurtado Jr. (CEO of Big Pete’s Treats) in Grower Stories #91

Effects
Sedated Icon
64% Voted
Energetic Icon
62% Voted
Aroused Icon
64% Voted
Taste
Berry Icon
66% Voted
Earthy Icon
65% Voted
Flowery Icon
64% Voted
Side Effects
Paranoia Icon
63% Voted
Paranoia
Dizzy Icon
66% Voted
Dizzy
Thirst and dry mouth Icon
51% Voted
Thirst and dry mouth

Let us know how does this strain makes you feel or just simply leave a review.

Effects

Side Effects

Taste

Strain Cannabinoids
THC question mark
16.0 - 20.0%
CBD question mark
0.61 - 1.44%
CBC question mark
0.27 - 0.89%
CBG question mark
0.13 - 1.54%
CBN question mark
0.05 - 0.23%
THCV question mark
0.3 - 1.35%
Grow Info
Flowering time icon Flowering time
49 - 63 Days
Harvest time icon Harvest time
69 Days
Yield indoor icon Yield indoor
1 - 2 Oz/Ft² (~ 400 g/m²)
Yield outdoor icon Yield outdoor
2 - 3 Oz/plant (~ 550 g/plant)
Height indoor icon Height indoor
30-60
Height outdoor icon Height outdoor
30-60
Grow difficulty icon Grow difficulty
Moderate
Flowering type icon Flowering type
Photoperiod

User Reviews

  1. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/8.png
    MaxxedOut
    03.31.21

    Got about 10 seeds from last gdp at local dispensary.. Head Doctor in am ,gdp in pm after dinner. Like both, anyway got 4 pots gdp growing 17 days old, 4” tall and 4 more 1” tall 7 days old. Long way to grow for first timer. Short trip to store while tending. I’ll get more til then!!!
    Getchya some!

  2. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/9.png
    Chuck Wagoon
    02.26.21

    I dont know why it looked too dried and kinda burnt? Is this even the right strain? Smells like soot.

  3. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/8.png
    Feensee
    02.24.21

    I must admit I was underestimating this one. It feels good when you have a headache because of overthinking. It smells something like lavender but with a lot of sweet hints. A good purchase for starters.

  4. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/7.png
    Liberty
    02.23.21

    I read a few bad reviews on allbud but those are untrue! This is fucking awesome!! It is strong enough to fill you with euphoria but you wont act possessed. rightly made!

  5. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    11:11Lucky
    02.22.21

    Migraines are frequent for me and as soon as I smelled the skunk i felt better and after smoke, I was in much better place.

  6. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/5.png
    PixieDust11
    02.16.21

    Posh…good to have a night with food, netflix and nice thoughts. I like the smell too, doesnt make the neighbors knock.

  7. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/4.png
    Star Night
    02.11.21

    The smoke leaves a earthy taste on the tongue

  8. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/3.png
    Cam Payne
    02.09.21

    Ive seen better and the quantity is also very less for the bucks I put in.

  9. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/2.png
    Merry Merrier
    02.03.21

    Calming but drowsy effect. It has floral and fruity smell – an interesting mix.

  10. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    AxeitPro
    01.21.21

    Go ahead and smoke a lil more than usual. No harm, honey!

  11. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    XXX999
    01.19.21

    This and a condom – all set!

  12. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/9.png
    TwoPlaitsRsec-C
    01.18.21

    Aroma reminds me of costly perfume

  13. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/8.png
    Kane Kaney
    01.17.21

    Its smooth, sexy and quite uplifting!

  14. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/7.png
    Docxxx
    01.15.21

    wikileaf called it unique? Its DEBRIS!

  15. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/5.png
    CocoCooler98
    01.15.21

    Pleasant smell as soon as I unpacked.

  16. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    MultiMixerMan
    01.15.21

    Cannabis gives you high yayy!

  17. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/4.png
    Angela678
    11.12.20

    I tried this MJ and was so hard on me. Next time I will try a smaller dose as I really want to experience it. Have only heard how cool it is but I havent had many chances to experience the cool effecst after my first bad experience. I will come back with another review.

  18. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/3.png
    Patriciah
    11.10.20

    Has great relaxation and euphoric effects when taken in small dose.

  19. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/2.png
    Dominic
    11.07.20

    Wanna get couch locked the whole day? Try this stuff.

  20. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    Tecla
    11.06.20

    so strong not for beginners, would only recommend novice smokers.

  21. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    Evans
    11.03.20

    Great head high with a euphoric lift. It’s a happy weed.

  22. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/5.png
    strain review online
    09.11.20

    Excellent post. I will be facing a few of these issues as well..

  23. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/2.png
    Mindy Collins
    08.10.20

    Super sweet

  24. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/3.png
    Aubrey Stanley
    08.09.20

    I liked the rich smell

  25. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/4.png
    Jason Perez
    08.07.20

    The best weed in central America Jamaican cant beat this

  26. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/4.png
    Sophia Sanchez
    08.06.20

    Simply the best

  27. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/8.png
    Lisa Morris
    08.05.20

    Nice deal

  28. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    Gary Grey
    08.04.20

    Wondering how to beat insomnia, stress, and anxiety without having a date with the doctor This is the remedy, a gift to you from nature

  29. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    James Ward
    08.03.20

    Worth trying again

  30. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    Jessica Reed
    08.03.20

    Had a good sleep

  31. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/9.png
    Amy Green
    08.01.20

    These trees elevate me to a whole new level everyday

  32. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    Howard Rivera
    08.01.20

    Dont underestimate what good weed can do This one especially After smoking it I felt dizzy but thats the deal I cannot trade my sleep for anything Smoking this pot is a guarantee

  33. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/3.png
    Carter Collins
    07.31.20

    Best Ive ever tried

  34. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/6.png
    Sandra Stewart
    07.31.20

    Very good

  35. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    Betty Campbell
    07.29.20

    I love the fruity flavor

  36. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/1.png
    Nelly Edwards
    07.29.20

    Cant regret

  37. https://askgrowers.com/wp-admin/images/avatars/3.png
    Kelvin Nelson
    07.28.20

    My all time favorite especially in the evening


Relationship between terpenes and tastes


Rate & Write Reviews

No apps configured. Please contact your administrator.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AskGrowers is an encyclopedia with cannabis-related data. All the information available on AskGrowers is only for educational purposes. We do not grow, sell or promote canna products nor propagate consumption or distribution of cannabis. The data about strains, products and their effects, contained on the website is based on the consumer reviews. AskGrowers is not responsible for the accuracy of the information displayed. None statements provided by AskGrowers should be discerned as medical advice. Always consult your doctor or other professional health care if you have any questions or uncertainty regarding your medical condition and appropriate treatment. We strongly advise consult with your physician before consuming any products displayed on this website. Relying on the information from this website is strictly at your discretion. You must take responsibility for abiding the law of the city, country or the jurisdiction where you are located.